Tag it, dag it!

January 26, 2009

tagginggunsIf all of you who post here can REMEMBER, please tag your stuff. Why? Well … I know this is an internal working group site, but maybe not really just that. I personally would love to see this site get some outside traffic from people interested in new media and social networking. Sort of like, what’s the government doing? An inside look! See the brain think! Or whatever it is we’re doing …

All part of us being the No. 1 Exemplar in Such Things in the Entire Universe … all 15 billion light years of it. – Mike Finneran

7 Responses to “Tag it, dag it!”

  1. Bob Allen Says:

    Mike — I disagree… with a caveat.

    Thanks to nasa.gov, I’m familiar with meta data and tagging. In fact, I tagged one of my first posts here. I noticed tagging added my post to a large, public list of things with that tag. When tagging “Twitter” or “social media,” that’s a big, high-profile list.

    That — coupled with what I thought wackomedia would be — explains why I disagree.

    I thought the NMT blog was to be a ‘working-level document.’ A place where the “What should we do next; what should we kill off?” and “Why this vs. that?” questions would be asked, debated and even hashed out. In short, I thought we’d have some dirty laundry here.

    Yes, I know this is a public web space. But if you’re not inviting folks in, the chance of being “discovered” is small. On this blog, tagging extends that invitation.

    I don’t want to air dirty laundry or invite the world to watch the sausage being made. And I’m really not interested in wading through comments and/or snark for things we *might* do or choose not to do.

    Now my caveat. As it turns out, this blog isn’t that kind of working space. It’s a chat room. So maybe those concerns aren’t valid. But if wackomedia is just a chat room, what’s the point?

    I understand your point of view that most outside input we attract would be helpful and appreciated, and I can even see how it’s likely that anyone inclined to find this obscure hole-in-the-web would be more inclined to help than snark. But I have a (now distant) history in public inquiries, and it keeps me on my toes.

  2. mpfinneran Says:

    Oh Bob …

  3. mpfinneran Says:

    Anyway, that first reaction aside … what dirty laundry? What is so bad, so secret, so nasty, so awful, so shameful that we are afraid to share it? Have we posted anything like that yet? And if this is not the kind of working space you envisioned, should you reexamine you expectations? Should I? Yes it is a chat room … and also a place to discuss what we are doing and trying to do. I just don’t see anything BAD about that. Or am I a wacko psycho dysfunctional weirdo or something? DON’T ANSWER THAT! Or … ANSWER THAT!!

  4. Bob Allen Says:

    “What dirty laundry?” Best example I can give you is the discussion I’ve attempted to kick off re: following folks on Twitter. I can (easily) imagine folks picking that conversation up and saying “NASA IS FULL OF PEOPLE WHO DON’T WANT TO TALK TO US!” when the real purpose of that post is to ask/discuss — If we choose to start following people, will our voice would get swamped by their tweets?

    Re: expectations. I don’t know that anyone needs to reexamine them. I’m saying I want a tool that performs in the way I described. If this is not that tool, then I guess it’s on me to find or create one that meets my needs. Or not.

    But the point remains that I’m not interested in having pre-decision discussions “on stage.”

    And yes, you are a wacko psycho dysfunctional weirdo. But you knew that already.

  5. mpfinneran Says:

    I guess I could say that having a pre-decisional conversation with others besides us could be productive. Instead I recite the words of a song from many years ago, when you were just a little white lab pup.

    For What It’s Worth,

    Paranoia strikes deep
    Into your life it will creep
    It starts when you’re always afraid
    You step out of line, the man come and take you away

    I do love you Bob, though.

  6. Timothy J. Allen Says:

    Someone once told me “Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean they’re not out to get you.” 😉

    I’ll admit, the question of transparency holds back a lot of people from interacting with social media tools. In any government organization where your keystrokes are logged and your emails could be released under FOIA years after you changed your mind about something, it can be hard to trust.

    That said, I’ll go ahead and tag, just so I might be able to find things easier later. But since this is a place where the sausage is being made, I reserve the right to change my mind. My opinion on any given Tuesday most certainly doesn’t represent the views of NASA… and may not even represent my view by the time Friday rolls around. Hopefully, I’ll continue to learn and be corrected as I go.

  7. kbarnstorff Says:

    I tagged my most recent post … I can be browbeaten … oops … encouraged, oh great Exemplar!


Leave a Reply

