NASA_Langley is reserved on Twitter…

December 18, 2008

http://twitter.com/NASA_Langley

An ID is reserved for us.  Now what?

My gut tells me that we should look at what we have access to and determine what can be converted in to tweets easily and quickly.  And develop a process for determining what kinds of things should and should not be tweeted.  And how often, at a minimum should we tweet?  Daily?  Hourly?

I’ve been looking at the 12/15/08 Center key acts for ‘sustainable’ ideas.  It is as boring as you’d imagine, but there are some ideas to be had there (e.g., Did you know that 12/18/08 is the First Hampton Celebration Day?  Or that the 2009 LARSS program applications ‘window’ is open now, until 2/1/09?).  I just hope it can be easier than requiring someone to spend the better part of a day combing through the notorious “47 Pages of Pain” each week.  Just doesn’t seem fair… especially if that person has kids at home.  <sings> Another suburban family morning; Grandmother screaming at the wall

I’m open to ideas… including alternative IDs (e.g., NASALangley, NASA_LaRC, NASALaRC, Yo_LaRC_Raps, whatever).  I can’t commit to making this thing a “Bob Allen Production,” but I’m happy to empower a team of responsible folks to do so and pitch in some time myself.

5 Responses to “NASA_Langley is reserved on Twitter…”

  1. keith henry Says:

    Who is the target audience for a Langley twitter?
    -keith

  2. Melissa (Dorsey) McDowell Says:

    I find the NASA HQ tweets to be too frequent.

    It is a good point, asking who the audience is. The Twitter service probably is defining the audience more than we possibly can, so I think we have to target the tweets to the Twitter demographic right now rather than trying to define one.

  3. mpfinneran Says:

    Bob who “reserved” this for us and did they do anything we could not have done ourselves?

  4. Bob Allen Says:

    This duplicates a message I sent Mike earlier in an e-mail. I decided to share it here so the NMT can follow the conversation.

    Mike, I created the ID and, in that process, ‘reserved’ it for our use. Beyond that, a couple of Sean’s pics for spice and you have what you see now — a colorful blank slate. -Bob

    I shared the password with Mike by e-mail, but I won’t post it here given the (unlikely?) possibility that someone not associated with NASA is following.

    Better safe than hijacked.

    Also, I think it’s a good idea to not to encourage everyone to ‘walk in the freshly-fallen snow’ until we’ve decided how NASA Langley should use the space.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks for the note Bob. I agree we should not use this site impulsively. Let’s share ideas about how to use it when we’re all back from the holidays and then … move out! – Mike F.


Leave a Reply

